Does meditation help to calm your mind?no_redirect=1

To first of all I would like to say that your question has the big mistake from the Vedic sight because the concepts of mind and intellect have a big difference. The Intelligence is not a dimension of mind!

BG (Bhagavad Gita) 3.42 gives the hierarchy of different subtle and gross elements within a particular body:

Function of Intelligence (the buddhi or the intellect)

The function of the intelligence, under the guidance of the soul, is to direct the mind but the mind, over a long period of time, has become difficult to direct. Instead, the mind has become so powerful that it dictates the intelligence and controls the soul, just ‘as an acute infection may surpass the efficacy of medicine’.

Nature of Mind

Lord Krishna tells Arjuna that, “one must deliver himself with the help of his mind, and not degrade himself. The mind is the friend of the conditioned soul, and his enemy as well.” (BG 6.5). And “for him who has conquered the mind, the mind is the best of friends; but for one who has failed to do so, his mind will remain the greatest enemy.” (BG 6.6).

Difference between the Mind and the Intelligence

Initially a warning on the outside of the cigarette packet used to be “smoking is harmful to health”. Later this warning became more grave and it read as “smoking causes cancer”. But the latest warning is the most serious ie “smoking kills”.

The intelligence understands and wants to follows this advice but the powerful mind says, “don’t listen to the intelligence and enjoy full the life – have another drag”.

Purpose of the intelligence

To control the mind, follows the instructions of the soul and ultimately the Supersoul, under the guidance of a bonafide guru, and help the soul to achieve the ultimate goal of life.

Answer to your question

Attention:this is an answer to the 3. version of this question. After this version this question was changed and additional information was puted.

To change the question meaning (you have added not only the link to the video "Sadhguru: «Developing an Inclusive Consciousness» | Talks At Google") after the question was answered is not allowed on StackOverflow / StackExchange. And it is very disrespectful because I have already answered your question at this time and my answer after your edit now looks like a wrong answer..

Jnana Bhumikas (Stages of Wisdom)

The Varaha Upanishad lists seven stages of wisdom. These stages mark the journey from striving for truth until the final state of self realization. These seven stages belong to the realm of jnana yoga (the yoga of knowledge).

The seven stages of wisdom are:

  • Subheccha (Yearning for Truth). In this state, there is a strong will to study scriptures and to practise them. The spiritual aspirant longs to mingle with gurus and teachers. He/she has a strong yearning to realize the self.
  • Vicharana (Enquiry, Investigation). This stage is marked by deep inquiry. The aspirant puts the teachings into practice through self-inquiry and meditation.
  • Tanumanasi (Thread-like Mind).The practice of meditation and inquiry transforms the aspirant’s mind. He/she slowly loses interest in worldly affairs and passions, and starts to concentrate more on spiritual practice. The mind slowly moves away from desires and emotions, and longs to pursue selfless spirituality.
  • Sattvapatti (Attaining Purity). In this stage, the mind becomes pure. The lower qualities of passion (rajas) and dullness (tamas) are transformed into purity (sattva) and awareness. A pure mind is akin to a lake’s calm surface. It is able to directly perceive the Absolute Self. Deep rooted tendencies in the mind are destroyed and the aspirant breaks frees from the clutches of maya (illusion) and sees the world as a dream.
  • Asamsakti (Detachment). In this stage, the aspirant becomes completely detached. He/she becomes utterly selfless and inwardly experiences complete bliss. He/she is not affected by external circumstances, but still performs voluntary actions, when the need arises. The aspirant becomes a jivanmukta (liberated while alive).
  • Padartha (Continuous Awareness of the Self). In this stage, the person is continuously immersed in the Absolute Self and acts only when impelled by others.
  • Turiya (The Superconscious State). In this final stage, the aspirant sees the world and the Absolute Self as one. Ramana Maharishi said turiya is natural and real state of one’s self.

Conclusion These seven stages can be used a guide to gauge spiritual progress. If you are a spiritual aspirant, check which stage you currently in, and strive to improve further.

How to do all this?

The biggest influence to control the mind is to do yoga exercises (inclusive Pranayama) and obligatorily to change your food to sattvic food only. Without this you has no chance to control your mind.