How can I meet Michelle Dilhara

The Asia Inspiration Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honour of youth, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in the World. Awards are given on the basis of quality of impact Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving, quality of achievement, quality of the evidence provided Sustainability: building capacity of future generations to meet their own needs.

The Award was instituted by International Youth Committee (IYC) in the year 2018 to recognize the efforts of young people who are doing innovative and inspirational works to make this world a better place to live in. So far, 35 individuals have received this award.

The award carry a gold medal, a scroll and  a shawl.

Award Ceremony of 2019 will be witnesses by His Excellency Mr. Peter Mutharika, President of Malawi, Mr. Tshering Tobgay, Hon’ble Former Prime Minister of Bhutan, Ms. Jacinda Adern, Hon’ble PM of New Zealand, Mr. KP Oli, Hon’ble Prime Minister of Nepal, Mr. Abiy Ahmed Ali , Hon’ble Prime Minister of Ethoipia & Mr. Narendra Modi, Hon’ble Prime Minister of India (India’s PM confirmation awaiting).

Ms. Michelle Dilhara and Mr. Dinesh Shubhasinghe receiving the Asian Inspiration Award 2019 from Mr. Syed Saddiq, Hon’ble Minister of Youth & Sports, Government of Malaysia.

The main Objectives of the National Youth Icon Awards are to:-
 Highlight the contribution young people are making to promote the common goal of a future built on fairness, peace, prosperity and sustainability and achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s).
 Acknowledge the outstanding contributions made by young people to overall development and democracy goals in the country;
 Create an environment which will encourage and sustain investments in youth led development;
 Illustrate the depth and breadth of talent, commitment and creativity that exists among young people across the Asia by highlighting nominees’ success stories;

 Motivate, encourage and challenge young people (aged 16-29) to set high standards for their work/service at community, national, regional or international levels;

Mr. Stephen Toussaint, Hon’ble Minister of Youth & Sports, Government of Mauritius handing over the Asian Inspiration Award 2019 to Mr. Tshering Dorji of Bhutan in 2018.

Nomination Requirements:
 The nominee must have been engaged in development work for more than 12 months, either in a professional or voluntary capacity;
 The nominee must be a citizen of UN recognized country and the development work must be taking place in any state or region of the country;
 The nominee should not be older than 40 as on 31 August 2019;
 Individuals can nominate themselves or be nominated by someone who can accurately describe their development work;
 The winners must agree to take part in publicity generated by the IYC.

A Filipino youth receiving the Asian Inspiration Award 2018.

Awards will be decided on the basis of:
1. Level of Impact;
2. Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem solving;
3. Quality of achievement;
4. Quality of the evidence provided.
5. Sustainability

How to Apply: Nomination can be done by sending your brief profile, CV/ resume & a photograph at: [email protected]

Deadline: 30th November 2019.

Mr. Ahmeed Mahloof, Hon’ble Minister of Youth, Sports & Community Empowerment, Government of Maldives handing over Asian Inspiration Award 2019 to an awardee in Colombo, Sri Lanka during the SAYS 2018.

Awards Process:
There will be total 2 finalists per country and the top regional winner to be named the World Young Person of the Year 2019.

Award Value: Asian Inspiration Award Award consists of a Gold Pin Medal, a citation and a scroll.

Date of Award Ceremony: 18th December 2019 in Dr. Ambedkar International Convention Centre, New Delhi, India in a glittering ceremony in presence of the foreign guests and high level dignitaries, guests and speakers during the World Youth General Assembly 2019.

Nomination Fees: 300$ (21,500 INR) must be paid only after confirmation of selection. If you are not selected then you don’t need to pay.

Once paid nomination fee is non refundable.